Episode 1 This Guilty Blood
Welcome to the second season of Shadowhunters. If you thought the first season was a wild ride, just you wait.
Alec feels guilty for letting Valentine take Jace. Magnus feels guilty because he can’t find Jace. Jocelyn feels guilty because she didn’t tell Clary the truth long ago. Clary feels guilty because she thinks it’s her fault that there is a kill order on Jace. Jace feels guilty for being the son of an evil, psychopathic mastermind. Alec feels guilty for taking his fear out on Magnus. Magnus works out his frustrations in a most beautiful way. And Izzy remains the most badass of badasses.
“Hm, the Clave being unhelpful. Who’s shocked? Show of hands.”
Right out of the gate, we have Magnus being sarcastic about the Clave. Which always makes me giggles. But Jace is still missing and there is no time to celebrate our beloved Malec making up.
Lydia, you already know that trying to pull rank with Alec is not a good idea. Especially when he’s agitated. I get that he is acting less than professional. But his Parabatai is in the hands of a madman and Alec is feeling extremely helpless and terrified, right now. There was definitely a better way to handle him than this.
Give him a minute alone, Magnus. Let him process everything that has just happened in a very short amount of time. His world has been turned upside down in every way. He outed himself to his entire family and the Clave. And then his Parabatai was forced to leave with the very madman trying to dismantle everything the Shadow World stands for.
And remember, it’s not you that he is mad at.
This face breaks me every time. He just wanted to offer comfort and support to the man he loves. Magnus, my sweet sweet man, give him time. Alec isn’t used to that. He’ll get there.
Jocelyn, now would be a good time to remind Clary that you did try to tell her about everything, on her 18th birthday. But she wouldn’t give you the time.
Or not…
“Why can’t you just do this one thing? After everything I’ve done for you?”
This conversation started out so great. Then Alec said that. That was too far, my love. I know you’re hurting, but lashing out at Magnus like that was too much. He’s done alot for you.
I can’t believe that Maryse goes along with the Clave’s decision to treat Jace like a criminal. So much for treating him like your son.
Okay, I am irritated with Jace, but I can’t stand seeing him being tortured. It’s too much and I want Valentine to be skinned alive!
This Aldertree bloke is so smarmy and slimey. And so obviously a fake. Not even that accent can save him!
I hate the way that Aldertree uses Clary’s words against her. She thought that she was giving information that would help Jace. Aldertree takes that and uses it to turn Alec against Clary even more.
I love Jace telling Valentine that the Lightwoods are his parents. Even if I am kind of hating Maryse, right now. She doesn’t deserve Jace’s loyalty. But Valentine deserves it even less.
Jace, you’re stronger than this! Don’t let Valentine brainwash and gaslight you.
Alec, my heart, I adore your face - but you have a lot of nerve getting upset with Magnus. You can’t treat someone the way you’ve been treating him and expect him to be okay with it. Magnus has every right to be upset. And everything he said to you is right. If I were Magnus, I would rather go home to my steak and vodka, too.
“What do you want from me?”
“At this moment… Nothing.”
The way Magnus says ‘Nothing’ so quiet and yet so final - gives me chills. But also makes me yell “Hell Yeah!’
Every. Time.
“What did you tell him?”
Alec, it’s not Clary’s fault. Aldertree is twisting her words.
That said, Angry Alec is very lovely…
I really feel bad for Clary, alot, in this first episode of season 2. Yeah she fucked up a lot in the first season. But she is learning and is getting better at being part of a team.
Aldertree declaring Jace a traitor is insane. Banning Alec, Izzy, and Clary from helping even more so. He’s lucky Alec didn’t punch him.
These wolves suck. Luke is their leader and they should respect what he says about Simon. Simon has been nothing but sweet and helpful. Their hatred is just because of who and what he is. And it’s bullshit.
And it’s bullshit that Luke let’s it happen. He needs to step up and be a real leader.
So clever of Izzy to use training as a mask for her and Clary to talk about Jace and what to do about him.
And she is absolutely right about The Art of War.
Also, Hecate help me, look at this woman!! I know I talk a lot about how beautiful Harry and Matt are. But Emeraude is like art come to life.
Alec may not have gotten off to the best start at the beginning of this episode, but he really has come a long way from the repressed grumpy cat of season one.
And I love when Alec lays into Maryse.
Watching him put her in her place for how she is denying Jace and talking about him, reminding her what killing Jace will do to Alec through their Parabatai bond - he just makes me so damn proud.
Simon - First rule of Shadowhunting. Don’t give anyone your phone or stele.
Clary - Thanks
This scene cracks me up. The sarcasm with which Simon says his line is absolutely gorgeous. And Clary’s equally sarcastic ‘Thanks’ just makes me beam with pride. But, also, Clary - my little firecracker - what did you think your mom wanted with your phone and stele? My dear girl, use that brain of yours!
I love watching Magnus do magical yoga. The way Harry moves is so graceful and fluid, like poetry in motion.
And those yellow eyes - Holy Hell!
I mean, just look at the absolute perfection right here. The way he holds his body, the elegance of the movements of his arms, the lack of shirt - absolutely one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.
Alec - Magnus. I’m not good apologies. But I’m… I’m sorry.
Magnus - Continue.
Alec - I’m really sorry.
Magnus - For?
So much respect to Magnus for the way he makes Alec work for that forgiveness. He definitely did not make it easy on him. I swear we are petty twins in another life.
Magnus is right, Alec. You’re great at apologies.
And how cute is this improve moment, when Magnus fixes Alec’s twisted coat collar? It’s so damn adorable. And I love that Harry improvised the moment.
And the way Alec reacts. That is a genuine smile of surprise and adoration from Matt.
The whole moment is so damn precious. And a testament to the strength of Harry and Matt’s friendship. And the power of their determination to make Malec a true, authentic couple. Not just a Queer couple.
Maria definitely makes me think of Norma from ‘Sunset Boulevard’!
“I’m a vampire. I’m running slow for you.”
Ha, oh Simon. My sweet, funny, adorable Simon.
And we’re off and running with Season 2. See you next time for A Door Into The Dark.